Vitat's homepage
25 Jul 2017, 19:40 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 21.03.08 Произведено обновление сайта/Site was updated
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Login Register  

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: IP-BUS to Computer  (Read 18526 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
JaxonD24
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


View Profile Email
« on: 11 Jun 2006, 05:17 »

Hi,

This is my first post on this forum, and I would like to say that after a few hours reading through some posts, I am very impressed with all the work that has been done concerning the IP-BUS and Pioneer head unit!

I have a Pioneer head unit and the IP-BUS cable. I was looking for a way to control the computer through the head unit and found this forum. The problem is I have no knowledge of electronics and I also don't want to add more hardware to the setup I have, so building a hardware emulator and the YAMMP3 is not really an option. From what I have read, the hardware emulator interprets the data from the head unit and converts it to a standard RS232 format. Can the IP-BUS cable be connected directly to a serial port on a computer where software interpets and converts the data into commands which can control a software MP3 player?

If this is possible, it would be very good.

Thanks for any help.

Damian.
Logged
vS
Junior
**
Posts: 15


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: 21 Jun 2006, 17:12 »

The IP-BUS cable can't be directly connect to RS232 PC port, it only can connect acros "converter" that been convert RS232 command in/to IP-BUS
Converter-emulator can be build based on schema of present on this forum EMULATOR, with added RS232 level converter (MAX232) end correction of soft in microcontroller.
Logged
GnatGoSplat
Junior
**
Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: 02 Oct 2006, 19:08 »

Hi, I also want to connect IP-Bus to computer.
Is the only thing necessary, is to connect CAN-BUS IC to MAX232, then connect MAX232 to serial port?
If yes, then what settings are necessary (baud rate, bits, parity)?

Is it possible to connect a converter to the IP-Bus when there is already another device on it?
My goal is to use the converter to "listen" to the IP-Bus and log all communication on it.  I want to decode the XM Radio mode.

Also, before I start, has the XM Radio mode already been decoded?
Logged
Vitat
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 338


11507314
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 06 Oct 2006, 03:22 »

Hi, I also want to connect IP-Bus to computer.
Is the only thing necessary, is to connect CAN-BUS IC to MAX232, then connect MAX232 to serial port?
If yes, then what settings are necessary (baud rate, bits, parity)?
No. Protocols and levels are very different.

Is it possible to connect a converter to the IP-Bus when there is already another device on it?
My goal is to use the converter to "listen" to the IP-Bus and log all communication on it.  I want to decode the XM Radio mode.
You can connect converter between HeadUnit and another device directly to IP-Bus and connect converter out from MAX232 to serial port. Upload logging firmware and listen communication.
Logged
GnatGoSplat
Junior
**
Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: 06 Oct 2006, 18:17 »

I am a little confused.  How come the Atmega8 UART can be programmed to talk to the CAN-BUS IC, but an RS232 port cannot, not even through MAX232?  I thought RS232 uses a UART too?

Is any extra circuitry required to connect converter between head unit and another device?  Or can it just be connected in parallel like a Y-splitter?

Is a logging firmware already available, or would I need to modify your Yammp3 firmware to turn it into a logging firmware?  I did a search and found no references to logging firmware.  Unfortunately, I am unfamiliar with the C language.
Logged
Vitat
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 338


11507314
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: 06 Oct 2006, 20:08 »

ATMega UART can't be programmed to talk with CAN-BUS IC! ATMega UART only for RS232 to PC or other UART device like MP3 player.
Look to the shematic diagramm from main site hardly!
Connect converter to IP-Bus parallel like spliter. If converter not be transmit any data - your HU and another device be working fine.
logging firmware.
Logged
GnatGoSplat
Junior
**
Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: 06 Oct 2006, 20:27 »

Ok, I think I understand.  I looked at schematic and see RX and TX connected to INT0 and ICP.
I was trying to learn by reading C source, but I don't know C so I misunderstood it for using the UART.
Thanks for the logging firmware!

Is Atmega64 compatible with Atmega8 firmware?
Logged
Vitat
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 338


11507314
View Profile
« Reply #7 on: 06 Oct 2006, 20:58 »

Is Atmega64 compatible with Atmega8 firmware?
No.
Logged
GnatGoSplat
Junior
**
Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« Reply #8 on: 05 Dec 2006, 17:33 »

Does the attached schematic look correct if I want to convert between IP Bus and 5V Serial?
I will use an external circuit to convert 5V serial to RS-232 so that part isn't in the schematic.


* LoggerSchema.gif (15.83 KB, 998x432 - viewed 3133 times.)
Logged
Vitat
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 338


11507314
View Profile
« Reply #9 on: 06 Dec 2006, 02:33 »

Does the attached schematic look correct if I want to convert between IP Bus and 5V Serial?
I will use an external circuit to convert 5V serial to RS-232 so that part isn't in the schematic.
Swap the RX(4) and TX(14) pins at Mega8.
Swap the 2 and 3 input pins at lm393.
Remove R10, it's not needed.
Logged
GnatGoSplat
Junior
**
Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« Reply #10 on: 06 Dec 2006, 22:34 »

Thanks Vitat, I have fixed it, I think!


* LoggerSchema.gif (15.54 KB, 998x432 - viewed 1945 times.)
Logged
Vitat
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 338


11507314
View Profile
« Reply #11 on: 07 Dec 2006, 02:57 »

Once more.
Put a p-n-p transistor and swap collector and emitter pins.
Logged
GnatGoSplat
Junior
**
Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« Reply #12 on: 23 Dec 2006, 02:15 »

Thanks Vitat, I have fixed the schematic and built the circuit.
Will your firmware do anything if Yampp3 is not connected?
I tried connecting to my stereo's IP-bus, but M-CD is not available.  I am just trying to test it right now.
Also, what are the correct settings for the Fuse bits?
Logged
Vitat
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 338


11507314
View Profile
« Reply #13 on: 27 Dec 2006, 00:18 »

Thanks Vitat, I have fixed the schematic and built the circuit.
Will your firmware do anything if Yampp3 is not connected?
I tried connecting to my stereo's IP-bus, but M-CD is not available.  I am just trying to test it right now.
Also, what are the correct settings for the Fuse bits?

M-CD must be available without connecting yampp3.
Fuse bits for Mega8?
Logged
GnatGoSplat
Junior
**
Posts: 11


View Profile Email
« Reply #14 on: 27 Dec 2006, 04:26 »

Yeah, Mega8 has fuse bits or option bits.  I know the one needs to be set for external oscillator, but I don't know what to do about the rest.  I wonder if that's why my HU doesn't recognize M-CD?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

TinyPortal v1.0.5 beta 1© Bloc

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!